eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   ESL Games and Activities (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/)
-   -   colours - more ideas needed (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/colours-more-ideas-needed-6725/)

Pernickety Nov 26th, 2007 12:40 pm

colours - more ideas needed

hi all,
i have prepared a lesson to teach colours to total beginners
- introducing the colours by colour flashcards
- practising pronunciation by identifying objects in my magic bag!
- written work: colouring the stars to match the colour
- reading: a book about colours

Problem is the teacher would like me to stick to one topic for 2 or 3 lessons and I'm struggling to think what I could do next week. Colour Bingo and ?????

(additional problem with this topic is that I don't think I'll have access to colour photocopier so handouts can only be b&w!!!)

clivehawkins Nov 26th, 2007 02:15 pm

Re: colours - more ideas needed

I play a game with the kids where I say a colour and they have to run and get me something of that colour (if in the classroom) or run and touch something of that colour (if in the recreation area)

Otherwise you could do a colouring exercise I've just posted on this site in the worksheet section. I've called it house-colour. (By the way, I didn't prepare this material and I can't remember where I got it from so I apologise in advance for posting it under my name)

How about The Rainbow Song here:
http://www.britishcouncil.org/kids-s...bow-lyrics.pdf
and then colour a rainbow to put up in class.

Hope that helps

Pernickety Nov 26th, 2007 05:11 pm

thanks clive,
I like the house colouring idea and will pinch it I think :D
I realised after I'd written that I hadn't included a song and the rainbow one is perfect (and the idea of making a rainbow for the class). I did find a great animated (kinda) version of that song on youtube