eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   ESL Games and Activities (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/)
-   -   Explaining game instructions without using the native language (HELP!) (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/explaining-game-instructions-without-using-native-language-help-11044/)

LaMaestraKate Jan 9th, 2009 04:16 pm

Explaining game instructions without using the native language (HELP!)

So heres the deal... In all of my classes (I have 4 year olds, 5 year olds, and 6-8 year olds) I'm not supposed to speak ANYTHING but English to them. Not a single word in their native language (their native language being Italian...). I have a LOT of games in my knowledge banks, and very few have triumphed with these kids. I've been able to do games like Memory, 10 Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed, and Color Commands by drawing pictures and using myself as an example. My problem is getting kids under 6 to understand games like Duck Duck Goose, Tag, and Red Light Green Light. I've tried drawing pictures like I said, I've tried to use myself as an example, I've even tried using the brightest of my students so they would get it and explain it to the others in their language but its been fruitless. Does ANYONE have any ideas for me? I'll trade some game rules if you want! Thank you! -Kate (Emilia Romagna, Italia, formerly of Medford, Oregon)

Beatrix Jan 10th, 2009 06:10 am

Re: Explaining game instructions without using the native language (HELP!)

why don't you try playing games along with them and showing them by your own example? that's the best thing that comes to my mind.

mesmark Jan 11th, 2009 11:14 pm

What I've found is you need to strip the games down and make them as simple as possible. You can ignore all the little details until after they understand the main idea.

Duck Duck Goose

(demonstrating with the group as you verbally explain.)

Maka a circle.
Sit down.
I go around.
I touch Kenny.