eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Dec 4th, 2010, 03:10 pm
eslHQ Member

tigerfly is on a distinguished road
Default help, please?

I am a trainee and I have been asked for one of my teaching practices to teach a class of very good upper intermediate adults for 80min lesson.

My tutors have suggested doing something on the passive voice and phrasal verbs. Preferably with an element of reading skills and a final production idea must be a communicative game.

Any suggestions for a context? Game? anything?
Unread Dec 5th, 2010, 06:09 pm
eslHQ Zealot

bread_baker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help, please?

If I had your group and the students did not know the grammar already: I would not try to teach 2 different grammar structures in less than 1.5 hours.
If you do a search of the forums, you will probably find some posts about phrasal verbs.
If you decide to teach phrasal verbs, select some that only have 2 words.
Unread Dec 8th, 2010, 01:31 pm
eslHQ Member

Totally agree with you.
Spoke to my tutors for clarification, they said to use some phrasal verbs as challenging vocab. As I said before they are a very strong class and understand most words, but are often stumped by phrasal verbs, which is why the tutors would like me to cover a few which are appropriate to my context.
I found a great story written in the passive voice so I'll go through it and see if I can add some phrasal verbs to it.
My problem now is trying to create activities to last over an hour!
Unread Dec 10th, 2010, 12:21 am
eslHQ Zealot

I'd focus on activities that last 15-30 minutes, because you don't want the students to get bored. If my students do composition or reading, they may need an hour or more. But for other activities, I prefer shorter ones. It's better to stop an activity before the students are sick of it.