eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   ESL Games and Activities (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/)
-   -   Simple Past - Games (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/esl-games-activities/simple-past-games-1422/)

Bahiya Jul 16th, 2006 08:26 am

Simple Past - Games

Hi,

I am teaching a class with students in their late forties who are absolute beginners and have severe problems understanding the simple past - are there any games that might be of help?

Thanks!!

mesmark Jul 17th, 2006 11:40 pm

Re: Simple Past - Games

There are a bunch of possible games but where are the problems:
- formulation of -ed enings ?
- irregular verbs ?
- making questions with 'did' ?
- the past tense of 'be' ?
- the negative with 'didn't' ?

yasemin Feb 26th, 2007 07:58 am

the past tense of be

smy2brazil Feb 27th, 2007 09:16 am

was
were

just two words...

not hard

HUE Mar 6th, 2007 03:40 am

I used this idea with my university students. They generally have a short attention span, and aren't the most studious of sorts. Anyway...

The lesson focused on the past tense, and I didn't want to give them a boring list to memorize. Yet I wanted to begin with a worksheet as a reference tool, practice through it, and then build on it.

I first made a crossword puzzle through Discovery Channel's Puzzlemaer (www.puzzlemaker.com), using 15 words in the past tense. These were words that would resonate with the students, and which we would use later in the lesson.

Next I dictated the fifteen words in the present tense. Students had to write the words, then compare spelling with a partner. They then searched for the words, which they had to conjugate. Again, answers were checked with a partner.

Lastly, after going through pronunciation drills and substitution drills, students interviewed 3 people in the class about their last weekend. Most of the words were used, but students were free to add information according to their ability level.