eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 3rd, 2007, 05:14 pm
Suzanne

sp6416 is on a distinguished road
Question Seeking advice, stories about Korea, etc.

Hi everybody,

I'm new to this game, and I'm not even in Korea yet. I'd love to hear from ESL teachers in Korea. What should I bring, not bring? What gifts should I bring to directors, students, other teachers? What ugly american behavior must I curb, so I don't offend?
Unread Mar 3rd, 2007, 07:55 pm
Administrator

Eric is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Seeking advice, stories about Korea, etc.

Hi and welcome to korea... eventually!

You can get almost everything you need for your life and for teaching here in korea. there are a few things that are hard to come by, though. deodorant is really hard to find. any other toiletries that you are attached to you should bring as well.

depending on your hobbies, you may want to consider bringing your hobby paraphanelia. it depends on what you are into, though.

also, a set of books that you would be willing to trade with other teachers after you read them.

gifts for directors: bottle of wine, some kind of gourmet/specialty food, etc..
gifts for students: stickers, fun pens/pencils, trading cards
gifts for teachers: cheese, books, good beer...

if you are already deciding on what gifts to bring people and doing research, i think you got the ugly american syndrome curbed already. just bring an open mind and you'll be fine.

if you have any specific questions as to what to bring, post them.

eric
Unread Mar 3rd, 2007, 09:18 pm
Ninja Fighting Teacher

livinginkorea is on a distinguished road