eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Oct 4th, 2006, 02:53 pm
eslHQ Member

tlhan06 is on a distinguished road
Default Steps to Teaching Abroad?

Hi everyone! I am currently a undergrad student that is pursuing a teaching degree(early childhood to fourth grade levels). I have one more year left in my undergraduate education and am very interested in teaching abraod. I came across this website and am so happy to have found it. Reading the experiences of others already teaching abroad is exactly what I was searching for. Although this site has useful information for those already teaching abroad, I was wondering if someone could direct me towards a path of how to teach abroad. Should I be doing something about it now or after I graduate? What are some good resources or other sites to look at. Any additional tips or info would be greatly appreciated! Hope to hear from someone soon
Unread Oct 5th, 2006, 01:04 am
Administrator

Eric is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Steps to Teaching Abroad?

Hi Terry and welcome to the site!

With a teaching degree in your pocket you will have a wide variety of jobs to choose from. I would start researching countries that you might be interested in teaching in. Also, when you narrow it down to a few countries, see when the normal hiring time is for that country or are they always hiring.

When you are about 4-6 months away from graduation, start looking for jobs that are available. some jobs will post early about their job openings while others will post quite close to the starting date. take your time, the right job will come.

The process is not as hard as it seems. once you are hired, the employer will tell you what they need and what you need to do before you arrive.

Here are some more resources:
Jobs
Looking at Job Offers
How to Find a Good ESL Teaching Job
Unread Oct 9th, 2006, 05:48 pm
eslHQ Member