eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 28th, 2007, 10:56 pm
eslHQ Member

kimyushin is on a distinguished road
Default How can I Train ESL Conversation teachers

Hi I am an ESL Conversation Teacher in the Philippines. I teach Koreans. Our classes are done one-on-one. We are similar to hagwons in Korea; the only difference is the large chunk of our classes are done one-on-one; that's because there are hardly any one-on-one classes in Korea. Students have very few chances to speak in English in large group classes in Korea. When we say large we are talking about 10 to 15 students per class; other classes are larger. If there are any one-on-one sessions, they are expensive.

Not only that, some Korean EFL Teachers speak both Korean and English in class which some parents and students find not helpful to learn another language. Given my teaching context, I want to explain the challenge I am facing now.

I have taught in our Academy for One year and ten months; I am the senior Conversation teacher here; the Korean principal is asking me to train our conversation teachers; however, I do not know how to train other teachers.

The principal wants me to pass on the effective methods, activities and other know-how that I learned to our teachers so that they can be effective as well. Here are the questions that I need help about:

1. What is the first step to take when training other teachers?
Half of the teachers are older than me. I already did a short group interview of some of our teachers; i wanted to know what their expectations are from the training; Most of them said they want to see how things are done in a conversation class; they want to see demos; and they also want to do demos during the training themselves. These two things I do not know how to do; my second problem is related this.