eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 25th, 2007, 04:42 am
eslHQ Member

jamyrene is on a distinguished road
Default ESP - The language of tourism

Hello...
I'm an italian student of foreign languages...i would like to prepare my degree thesis on the English for tourism...

do you have any suggestions ...about the theme to chose...what kind of analysis i should do...which book study....some nice ideas for the title...

I'm going to London for a week ... and i think i will find a lot of ideas...brochures, guidebooks...

...i have also thought to do an interview to some tourism employer (for example...a guide) to understand if they use a particulary language technique..

What do you think about???

Last edited by jamyrene : Mar 25th, 2007 at 07:33 am.
Unread Mar 25th, 2007, 09:42 am
eslHQ Member

cantodeluar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: ESP - The language of tourism

HI! I'm doing my graduation paper in this theme(ESP), so I'm reading "English for Spacific purpose" (Tom Hutchinson ans Alan Water)by Cambridge That is a nice book, easy vocabulary.
For prepar my classes I'm working with "My I help you?" by Longman and "At you service" by Oxford. That is not easy, do the syllabus and choose the methodology it is the worse part. Teach is my favorite one...
Unread Mar 28th, 2007, 06:15 pm
EFL Teacher

DaveESL is on a distinguished road

Hi. I'm currently teaching English for tourism classes at a college in China. For my students, one of the biggest issues is actually be able to use the language they already know. Thus, we concentrate a lot on activities aimed at building fluency in addition to teaching language (ie roleplays). I'm also starting to work with them on sentence-level intonation and expressing emotions. Pragmatics (politeness, etc.) also seem relevant to them.