eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   Teaching ESL (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/)
-   -   Help needed for giving private tuition lessons (new teacher) (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/help-needed-giving-private-tuition-lessons-new-teacher-33279/)

Anygodwilldo Aug 10th, 2011 12:52 pm

Help needed for giving private tuition lessons (new teacher)

First off, Hello all.
I am a recently qualified (CELTA) English teacher, and I've been approached by a Czech family (all adults) who want private lessons. I've just finished a successful month teaching in a summer school (my first real teaching job), but I have no experience in 1-to-1 lessons.
Could anyone who has experience in private tuition give me any advice, on type of lesson, subjects to focus on, style to adopt, etc?
The people involved have only quite a low level of English, and they have said they want to learn everyday conversational English as they are living and working in the UK.
Any help is appreciated. I have posted similar messages on other efl forums but no replies yet.
Thank you in advance.

chokosaki Aug 12th, 2011 10:59 am

Re: Help needed for giving private tuition lessons (new teacher)

I've only had a few 1-on-1 experiences but I'll offer what I can....

I divided my lessons into several smaller parts....

1.) Daily conversation. This was sort of like a warm up to get the student into the mindset of using English. We would briefly discuss all the usual daily stuff (like weather for instance).

2.) Work related content. Teach some useful English (phrases, vocabulary) that is specific to their work. Ask your student what he or she wants to learn in this part and go from there.

3.) Hobbies/Interests. You can generally get your student(s) chatting with topics that are of interest to them.

Of course, your planning depends on how much time you have. Good luck with your private lessons!

Anygodwilldo Aug 18th, 2011 02:13 pm