eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 6th, 2011, 08:34 am
eslHQ Enthusiast

sms04n is on a distinguished road
Question HELP! English Lessons for Adults

Hello. I am giving English lessons in Italy on the side to a friend of my husband's family. English is my mother tongue but I am not experienced in tutoring/giving lessons. The lady owns a hair salon and would like to learn some English in order to bring in tourists. She has no interest in learning to write or look through a textbook. She speaks little or no English. Does anyone have any suggestions? Where I should start? I was thinking to start with the alphabet, the numbers, greetings/goodbyes, a/an/the and the verb to be. Please help!
Unread Feb 6th, 2011, 07:53 pm
eslHQ Zealot

bread_baker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP! English Lessons for Adults

You are right about some things. If she speaks no English, and can't read English at all, she needs to learn the alphabet, days of the week, months of the year, greetings, and a lot of other basic things.
She's going to need hours of speaking practice every week for months in order to get even basic speaking skills.
Don't expect too much from the few hours of tutoring you give her.
I teach at an adult school in California. Our classes combine all the skills. Someone who starts with no background in English needs 11 hours a week for at least 40 weeks just to have basic skills (and that's someone who learns rather quickly; many people don't.)

Last edited by bread_baker : Feb 6th, 2011 at 07:53 pm. Reason: spelling
Unread Feb 7th, 2011, 05:58 am
eslHQ Zealot

Pix is on a distinguished road

Hi there,