eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Sep 24th, 2015, 01:57 pm
eslHQ Member

marcux1000 is on a distinguished road
Default How to teach children 6 - 9 years old

Hello, i am still new in this fantastic world, but i was chosen to teach children from 6 to 9 years old. I have forty students in each classroom and sometimes it's difficult because some of them look very apathic or unmotivated, on the contrary there are a few very motivated.
My question is ...what activities like games should i bring to the class in order to make them participate?

By the way, any advise to keep them quiet or working?
THANK YOU : )
Unread Sep 26th, 2015, 12:04 pm
eslHQ Member

MST3Kakalina is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to teach children 6 - 9 years old

It would probably be a bit more helpful if you described what you were already doing.

I taught this age group for a couple years and things that worked well were:

splitting classes into teams and earning points

individual students earning stickers, fake currency, or stamps they could later trade in for cool stuff (i've done this on a class-wide level as well as school-wide. it's easier when the school will support you in this, but it's possible to manage it yourself.)

not taking their apathy personally (some are only there because they have to be---that's okay, not everyone has to love every subject in school) but not allowing them to become a distraction

punctuating long classes with short "brain breaks" or easy review games (Hangman, pictionary, taboo, charades, correcting sentences on the board)

I don't know anything about keeping them "quiet and working" specifically. Language classes at that level go better if they're more interactive rather than "fill in this worksheet" etc. IMO.
Unread Sep 28th, 2015, 09:40 pm
eslHQ Member

marcux1000 is on a distinguished road