eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   Teaching ESL (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/)
-   -   How to Teach a Quiet Class and Make the Lessons Interesting? (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/how-teach-quiet-class-make-lessons-interesting-15119/)

bluishskin Jan 15th, 2010 08:01 am

How to Teach a Quiet Class and Make the Lessons Interesting?

Hi everyone!

I hope I'm posting this on the right category. I have this class of 6-7 students in elementary level (level 3) and I'm kind of confused on how to make the lessons more lively and get them more active as they're quiet and passive. :confused:
They're about 16-20 years old and I've only taught them twice. I'm a beginner teacher myself who's still on training while working part-time at the same time, so I've been given this class in which the students were used to their real teacher.
I'm not sure why they're so quiet. Is it because they're facing a new teacher? Or is it because they're shy and because of their limit in communicating in English?
When I ask them to interact with one another, or simply to participate in answering my questions, they tend to speak in a faint voice. When I tell them to do something like a worksheet or a group activity, I feel like I was giving them an exam. Too quiet and passive.
What kind of activities should I give them? What can I improve in my teaching style?
Any opinions and ideas are welcome.
Thank you! :D

bread_baker Jan 16th, 2010 03:10 pm

Re: How to Teach a Quiet Class and Make the Lessons Interesting?

What country are you in?
What is the nationality of the students?
How long did the students have the other teacher?
Do you think they are afraid?
Here in California, we get students from many countries, and usually the students aren't quiet and passive.
Do not give them activities that are too high for their skills. They probably won't tell you if something is too hard.
Students take awhile to adjust to a change of teachers.