eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   Teaching ESL (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/)
-   -   Morning! Any advice on varying abilities please! (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/morning-any-advice-varying-abilities-please-6150/)

KIKGIRL80 Oct 13th, 2007 04:17 am

Morning! Any advice on varying abilities please!

Morning all - another newbie here! Firstly, great site and thanks to the organisers for the abundance of resources! :)

I volunteer in a community setting in the UK at the moment and I have one class with only two Indian students, both of very different ability. I have them for two hours and I'm worried that they are not getting the most from the time because of the attention they need. :confused:

Does anyone have any tips on activities that will keep the two of them challenged? One can barely speak a sentence, we are starting with pronouns and basic vocab. The second has enough vocab to be confident in a conversation (if you ignore the grammar and work out the tense for yourself!) and can compose a piece of writing although it will have grammatical errors. He is trying hard to push himself while the other is very shy and struggles.

Thanks in advance, TK

susan53 Oct 13th, 2007 05:33 am

Re: Morning! Any advice on varying abilities please!

If you see them frequently, I'd suggest splitting them - alternate lessons for each. They'd probably learn more from one dedicated lesson than two mixed ones. But if you can't, or if you only see them once a week, and it's not an option, you could split them within the lesson :

Divide the lesson in two. Start with the beginner, and for the first half of the lesson work with him. Meanwhile the other is working autonomously on follow up activities from the last lesson. If there's a computer in the room this could be on-line, or just ordinary "pen and paper" stuff.