eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Sep 1st, 2006, 12:29 am
eslHQ Member

SleepyLP is on a distinguished road
Default Have you read any good ESL Books?

This is a call to all those experienced teachers who have done some research/reading about teaching English as a foreign language.

I've been teaching for almost 3 years, two years at a conversation school and am currently at a junior high. I haven't done enough reading and would like to start to get some more teaching theory behind my teaching style. Trial and error worked for a whle, but I'd like to read some experienced thoughts and theories.

Anyone read any goods books about this?
Unread Sep 1st, 2006, 03:15 am
Clive Hawkins

clivehawkins is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Have you read any good ESL Books?

It's not an ESL book as such, but if you'd like some fresh ideas there's a really good section in the back of the teacher's book to Natural English (Intermediate), published by Oxford.

There are 6 Teacher Development chapters:
How to - activate vocabulary
- introduce new language
- teach listening
- monitor and give feedback
- do free speaking
- teach phonetic script

It's great for helping you 'get out of a rut' as far as your teaching is concerned. I admit mine was getting pretty stale and this gave me one or two new ideas for a fresher approach.

Hope that helps.

Get TEFL qualified in Sardinia!:
Tefl in Sardinia
Unread Sep 1st, 2006, 03:34 am
SimplyESL

simplyesl is on a distinguished road

I haven't read any books. I like to read what other teachers have done/are doing. I think it also helps to reflect on the lesson that you have just done and think of at least 3 ways that you feel you could have improved it.

Quote:
Trial and error worked for a whle
I think that some of the best activies and approaches come from trial and error by looking at where you can improve them.