eslHQ

eslHQ (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/)
-   Teaching ESL (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/)
-   -   Oral ESL for Adults--Help! (http://www.eslhq.com/forums/esl-forums/teaching-esl/oral-esl-adults-help-11638/)

Ster Mar 4th, 2009 12:56 am

Oral ESL for Adults--Help!

I have been a teacher for 7 years, but this is my first time teaching a group of adults. They are all university graduates and working people, between the ages of 25-40. I have no idea what to do with these people as they can speak English quite well already and have no problems expressing themselves on any topic. They do not understand the concept of playing English learning games (20 questions was a total flop). Can someone help? The school expects me to provide all the materials and lesson plans.

Thank you so much!!:D

HUE Mar 10th, 2009 03:19 am

Re: Oral ESL for Adults--Help!

It's hard to give really helpful advice without knowing the students' need for English. Are they there to learn? Do they just want to chat? Has HR sent them as part of a company-wide program?

Additionally, how long is the class?

Take a look at my website for materials if you're stuck, as everything is geared towards adult learners.

English Lesson Plans | Heads Up English | ESL Lessons

You can use a lot of the speaking/listening materials to focus skills, such as skimming and scanning, summarization, presentation, debate, and so on. I've worked with a lot of adult students in the past, and even very high level individuals can learn to give better presentations, support opinions, etc.

Good luck, and let us know how it goes.

Ster Mar 11th, 2009 07:06 am

Hi Chris,