eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

Poll: Do you use readers in the classroom?
Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.
Poll Options
Do you use readers in the classroom?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Jul 20th, 2006, 01:01 pm
eslHQ Member

JeremyinFrance is on a distinguished road
Default Reading - a great way to improve your English

I am a writer of original readers, not dumbed-down versions of Dickens. I have found that students who read a lot make extraordinary progress, not only in their reading skills, but in all skills. They pick up new vocabulary and are bombarded with correct English. They might even start to think in English, if they keep it up for long enough.
I am very interested to hear from anyone who uses readers, either to learn, or for their students. How do you use them? Do you (or your students) actually enjoy them or do you/they do it simply to improve your/their level of English?
If anyone wants any short stories to read, I have some on my website for free download.
Jeremy
Unread Jul 20th, 2006, 06:24 pm
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reading - a great way to improve your English

I've been using some spectrum readers with groups of upper elementary students. They really enjoy them. We use the pictures first for discussion and once the students sort of have a grasp of the context we read short exerpts together.

I don't translate or ask them to. I ask some simple reading comprehension questions and so far it's been good.

I'll try to take a look at your web site later today and give you some feedback.
Unread Jul 20th, 2006, 08:34 pm
Ninja Fighting Teacher

livinginkorea is on a distinguished road