eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Dec 15th, 2010, 03:58 pm
eslHQ Enthusiast

tinyteachinthemaking is on a distinguished road
Default Suugestions for dealing with Young Learners with a very short attention span

Attention YL teachers: I'm sending out a BIG Sos.
I'm reaching 4 classes, 2 of which are young learners (ages 7-10).
I'm having a really hard time with one group of pupils. It's not a large class (9 kids in total), but they have a very short attention span. The boys in particular are very hard to handle
I've had them since October.
In their defence, they are out of day school by 4:30 and have English class from 5 till 7, so they are tired out.
I must point out that this is my first ever experience with young learners, so I'm still learning.
An older colleague suggested, sprucing up the class with more fun and games ( which I should do).But of course it can't all be games.
Any suggestions as to what I can do to change the situation?
Also I would like some advice on how to discioline and dole out punishments (if need be), without resorting to shouting.
Thanks in advance
Unread Dec 16th, 2010, 12:06 pm
eslHQ Zealot

alawton is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Suugestions for dealing with Young Learners with a very short attention span