eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 11th, 2008, 03:14 am
eslHQ Member

Rouvrou is on a distinguished road
Default Teaching English in French primary schools

I have been teaching English in two French primary schools since Christmas. (I was a primary teacher and adviser in England before taking early retirement in France). I have three year groups, ages 7-8, 8-9 and 9-10. They are large classes (up to 29 in one class) and are also mixed year groups. The classrooms are small, with large, heavy, iron desks - so there is very little flexibility for group work. There are no resources apart from those I make myself. Things are going well with the older children, but I find it hard to come up with ideas for the youngest age group. They are not doing any writing and are only reading simple, individual words with visual clues. I try to use a mix of aural / oral, visual and kinaesthetic teaching methods.
I have read Pernickity's posts with interest - is there anyone else out there with any ideas?
regards
Rouvrou
Unread Feb 12th, 2008, 05:59 pm
eslHQ Enthusiast

Pernickety is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Teaching English in French primary schools

Hi Rouvrou, glad to have found you!

I find the kids here so enthusiastic and not at all afraid to speak. This is new to me as I mostly taught teenagers and adults before, so I'm not sure if it's because of their age or a mix of age and nationality/culture!

I find the lack of materials and lack of clear curriculum great, on the one hand, because there is no pressure to achieve anything concrete and the kids sense this and just enjoy themselves. It's a break from the regular classes, but they're learning nonetheless. However, the lack of resources means that I spend as much time lesson planning as teaching which makes it quite hard work.