eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 25th, 2008, 04:14 pm
eslHQ Member

mirwin is on a distinguished road
Default New Teacher

I am a 2nd year teacher at a small rural school. (There is one class per grade.) Our/My resources are very limited. We have two new students from Puerto Rico - and I now have the additional title of ESL instructor. One student is in 6th grade the other student is in 10th grade. They speak limited English, and I don’t speak any Spanish. Where do I begin? Any help would be appreciated!
Unread Mar 25th, 2008, 07:04 pm
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Teacher

Can you tell us what you plan to do? And then we can offer you some suggestions.

What have they done previously?

In general it's easier to pick a theme, target language, or target vocabulary and then move from there forward.
Unread Mar 25th, 2008, 09:09 pm
eslHQ Addict

EngliPatrick is on a distinguished road

Mirwin,

The great thing about the ESL community is that there is a lot of good material out on the web, you just need to know where to find it.

For example, one of the best FREE sites teachers' resources online is the person who posted right above me. He's got close to 2,000 flashcards at your disposal along with other cool ESL resources, which include generators, stickers, certificates, etc.

I think your best bet is to come up with a game plan of attack for your lessons and then if you don't know where to find the resources for your game plan, ask your questions here. There are a ton of teachers in this forum who have 5+ years teaching experience that know the internet and its ESL resources pretty well.

Good luck!
Unread Mar 26th, 2008, 09:38 am
eslHQ Member

mirwin is on a distinguished road