eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 19th, 2010, 06:42 am
eslHQ Member

Lorna G is on a distinguished road
Default Difficult Class!

I teach a group of three twenty-something’s and find them to be very unresponsive. It's difficult to get them to talk about anything though they often talk to one another in their native tongue.

Can you give me any tips on how to get them talking or suggest any games? They're at a beginner level so I know I should focus on grammar and vocab but I'm quite new to this so I'm not sure where to start.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated!
Unread Mar 19th, 2010, 05:39 pm
eslHQ Zealot

bread_baker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Difficult Class!

I teach Beginning High, which I have taught for over 3 years. Before I make suggestions, I have some questions. How much English do they know? Do they know any sets of vocabulary words like items of clothing, parts of the body, etc.? Can they carry on conversations in English at all? What grammar structures do they know? What grammar structures are you required to teach them? Have you tried any hands-on or visual activities, and if so, which ones? Have you tried written dialogs which they learn to say? Dialogs are an important part of my class.
Unread Mar 21st, 2010, 10:16 am
eslHQ Member

Lorna G is on a distinguished road

Hello and thank you for your interest.