eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread May 21st, 2007, 09:55 pm
Mr. Vinay

Vinay Thanawala is on a distinguished road
Exclamation How can I Make my ESL Students Speak Louder?

Hello all,

This is my first time on ESLHQ. I'm teaching corporate ESL, and having difficulty in building activities that will increase the TONE of my students.

Any suggestions?

Much appreciated.

Mr. Vinay
Unread Aug 14th, 2007, 01:17 am
Compelling Conversations

Eric18 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I Make my ESL Students Speak Louder?

Good question. I often videotape student presentations, post the videotapes, and have students fill out a self-critique. I also ask students to complete a detailed peer review. The combination of my comments, a detailed peer review, and their own self-critique often leads to bolder, louder, and more professional future presentations.

You can also sit in the back of the room, and ask them to speak louder. Good luck.

Eric
eric@compellingconversations.com
www.compellingconversations.com

"Education is an ornament in prosperity and a refuge in adversity."
Aristotle, 4th Century BCE, Greek philosopher
Unread Aug 14th, 2007, 04:48 pm
mind like a sieve

HUE is on a distinguished road

Hi Vinay,

Welcome to ESLHQ.

Eric's idea is a good one. I've taped students giving presentations, performing role plays and skits, and the like before. It works well, but has to be set up as a large project. Although very effective, and fun, it isn't so practical to use in class every day.

If you want an every day activity, use dialogues more often. A lot of teachers have the students read the dialogues once or twice, maybe memorize certain key phrases, and then move on to the next activity. This is fine if you just want to introduce the target language in context. But you can do more.