eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread May 26th, 2012, 06:36 am
eslHQ Enthusiast

sms04n is on a distinguished road
Default Teaching English to 6-8 year olds

Hello, I give individual lessons to a few children ranging from 6 to 8. A few of them love using the book but one doesn't. She hates the student's book. It's hard to play a lot of games because it is an one-on-one lesson. Does anyone have any good ideas? It's only one hour a week. Thank you very much!
Unread May 28th, 2012, 04:58 am
eslHQ Enthusiast

jellybeanenglisch is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Teaching English to 6-8 year olds

I have been teaching 6-8 year-olds for a couple of years. Here are some tips that work for me:
1) structure. Start each lesson the same way (no book required). Greet the student, wait for proper reply, do a few familiar songs or routines before starting something new
2) use flash cards. Ideas on how to work with flash cards can be found at ESL-Kids - Flashcards, Worksheets, Games and Songs
3) bring a cuddly toy. I usually use "George the curious monkey" and pretend that he only speaks English. So to introduce new language patterns or vocabulary, I model the dialogues with George. Also works when kids are sad or reluctant to speak as he is very cuddly (and very nosy). The kids love him!

Hope some of this works for you. Let me know. Good Luck
Unread May 28th, 2012, 06:05 am
eslHQ Enthusiast

Default Re: Teaching English to 6-8 year olds

Thank you very much for the ideas. I'm going to use them for my next lesson
Unread May 31st, 2012, 02:26 pm
Teacher Trainer

LouannePiccolo is on a distinguished road

Hi,