View Single Post
Unread Jan 28th, 2010, 06:38 pm
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: "Why is Jesus an ESL Taboo?"

Quote:
Quote J_Joseph View Post
1. The OP who has such a 'deep Catholic faith' unfortunately has a shallow understanding of history in general and the history of his own faith in particular.
Well, Joseph it's your condescending words like "shallow" and "silly" that taint your argument with hatred and bias. On what grounds do you even base the comment that his understanding of history is not more complete than your own? Because he has faith in something you can't understand?

Quote:
Quote J_Joseph View Post
2. We are guests. We should act like guests and not mention topics which the host country or school does not want discussed regardless of our own beliefs.
I'm not a guest. I have a house here and I pay taxes. I'm a permanent resident. Don't assume we are all on holiday.

<offensive remarks removed> my apologies

Quote:
Quote J_Joseph View Post
4. While showing a somewhat better understanding of history by acknowledging the pagan origins of Christmas you fail when discussing Coca-Cola and the current common image of Santa. You also seem willing to ignore what you know about history when it conflicts with your beliefs. You are far from alone on that score so do not feel bad about it.
I don't. It's called faith, But there are plenty of supporting facts that you "also seem willing to ignore when it conflicts with your beliefs" ...

Quote:
Quote J_Joseph View Post
5. If somebody does not understand something, possibly they should not be discussing it in class.
Fair enough, but let's not call a different opinion a lack of understanding.

You believe you are correct based upon what other people who believed something have spoon fed you.