eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 17th, 2010, 10:16 pm
eslHQ Member

captaindestroyo is on a distinguished road
Default Discussion topics for high school class?

Ive been teaching primary school in China for a few months now, and I think I've got a pretty good handle on it. But last week I was informed that I would be teaching a class of high school students on Saturdays, and there is no curriculum. Basically I am CLUELESS about what to teach them. I have never taught a group whose English is this advanced before. The school wants me to create a Powerpoint show on a topic of my choice to discuss every week. My first one is about travel and famous places in the United States. My question to you all is, what do high schoolers like to talk about? What kinds of games/activities work well with them? What are they interested in?

Here are some specifics about my situation: the students' English level is fairly high (they can have a decent conversation with you). There are 36 students, and I have them for 2 40-minute periods every Saturday. I need activities that require little or no physical materials, because at this point the only things I have access to are the Internet, pencils and paper and MAYBE some markers if I get lucky. No printing, copying or laminating, no poster-board or anything like that.

I realize this is a broad question, but I like to be over-prepared and anything you can give me would be great. Thanks
Unread Mar 19th, 2010, 06:54 pm
eslHQ Zealot

bread_baker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Discussion topics for high school class?

You can and should ask the students what they are interested in. I can only speak for America; here students of that age are interested in movies, movie stars, fashion, boyfriends/girlfriends, sports and food.