eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Aug 21st, 2010, 07:01 am
eslHQ Member

liebkostdrache is on a distinguished road
Default kids camp help URGENTLY needed

Wow, do I have my work cut out! I'll have a kids' camp coming up, beginning Monday (!!)and the kids are a wide variety of ages from just turned 9 to going to turn 13. It's a group of 8, 6 boys and 2 girls, and I'll have them from 930am to 230pm for 5 days in a row. As you can imagine...I'm running out of ideas! The kids go to a French school here in Germany, so tend to be a bit more advanced, but with this group, I've got the random lot...total beginners to those with A2 skills. I'm planning a 'restaurant/food/eating out' theme for the week, with the final presentations being a class restaurant the students essentially 'create' from menu, to staff, to colors with specific targeted vocabulary, as well as grammar structures 'I'll have', 'I'd like..' and so on associated with eating out and placing orders. I've scoured the web the past couple nights and have some basics, but I fear they are either a. too easy or b. to complex for the ages I'll have.

My problem is, I don't want the older kids to get bored, or the younger ones too antsy..any suggestions for good motivators, worksheets or activities? Unfortunately, I won't be able to take the kiddies out to run...essentially we're shut in together in a fairly small classroom. I'm to use a certain template for this camp, but unfortunately, I didn't even know I had the camp until this past Thursday, and my direct supervisor failed to give me a heads up on the kids, the template (didn't email it to me), and there is no material whatsoever for me to use...I'm free flying here folks! I also have limited materials at hand, and can't afford to go out and supply myself (and the camp) with a lot.

Thanks a bunch!

-one stressed out teacher-