eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread May 16th, 2006, 05:52 am
eslHQ Member

retread is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Recruitment caution

I am new to ESL teaching in Korea and I've never used a recruiter before this job. I love Korea and I love teaching the kids here. My problem started before I accepted the job through Work-N-Play, an ESL recruitment agency in Seoul. This may just be an isolated incident for Work-N-Play. However, from my own experience with the agency I'm sure there has been previous problems. My problems started before I accepted the position. Much of the information supplied to me from Work-n-Play was wrong. To start, I am teaching in the southern central west coast and I was told to fly into Busan. This is much further from the town I work in than Seoul. I was told not to worry about the Medical Certificate until I got into the country.I now know you need to Certificate before arriving in country. The Plane ticket was my major issue. However, to give the recruiter the benefit of being in rush to get me here, I understand minor mistakes will be made. I initially contacted the recruiter on Jan 25 about a posting in Korea. On Jan 26 they phoned me in the US and requested I expedite effort to gather all needed documents and once I got all the documents to them I was hired. My hire date was March 1, but they told me I needed to be in Country by Feb. 27 for Oreintation.They also emailed information about the job and the things I needed to do to get all the documents. This was a pre-printed format type letter that I now know was badly outdated. Anyway, by Feb.3, I had collected all the required documents and sent the stuff by Fedex to the recruiter. Now this is where things get bad. I still needed my visa and there was no way I was going to get a visa by the time I needed to be in Korea. The school here would apply for my visa