eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 11th, 2009, 11:35 pm
eslHQ Enthusiast

sobek is on a distinguished road
Default 1st day jitters

Hi all.
Does anyone else suffer from the 1st day jitters?
Today was the beginning of the school term, but also the start of a new job for me.
Now I've had 2 years experience (1 year EF, 1 year kindergartens) but I was still nervous about starting a new job.
This job is at an elementary school and I honestly had no idea how to teach or if I could be a good replacement for the former teacher, who had been there for 2 years and seemed pretty well liked.

Anyway, I find it funny how the build up to starting a new job leaves me feeling terrible nervous, almost dreading the class, but the second I step into the classroom, all the nervousness disappears.

I guess I got a good reception, as soon as I stepped in the classroom, the students got all excited and 40+ students all came running to me wanting my autograph.

Anyone had similar experiences?
Unread Feb 12th, 2009, 11:05 am
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 1st day jitters

I tend to stress a bit about new teaching situations but come 'game day' I'm generally pretty relaxed and ready to go.

At that point there's not much you can do but teach. If it goes well, it goes well. If not, regroup and try again.

I've always been a bit laid back like that, though. You know, it's just life and it's just yours. As long as you enjoy it, it's pretty good.

Build up. Be positive. Teach hard!
Unread Feb 13th, 2009, 03:07 am
eslHQ Enthusiast

sobek is on a distinguished road

Yeah I think because I was teaching in a new environment, I felt a little
nervous about the change.

For the past year I have been doing kindergartens, where I would be playing games, songs and have them run around in the big room I used for teaching.