eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 2nd, 2008, 08:24 am
eslHQ Member

hartinimohdsirat is on a distinguished road
Default Any ideas in teaching writing?

Hi, guess I'm the latest newcomer here. I found eslhq very interesting. In fact, I used one or two of the strategies teaching esl students in my school suggested in this web.

Oh! I forgot to introduce myself. In short, my name is Hartini and I'm an English teacher for 12 years. Currently, I'm teaching at a primary school here in Malaysia.

Well, my problem is...I don't know how or do not have any idea to teach writing. My students- they come from rural areas, not enough exposure in the language and lack of vocabulary and reading. I want to start with something simple...like teaching them how to make simple sentences to compound and complex sentences, with illustrations of course! Hope I could get a feedback soon. Thanks, bye!
Unread Feb 4th, 2008, 01:48 am
eslHQ Member

Carbon Copy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Any ideas in teaching writing?

Hi Hatini,
I too am teaching in a rural area. I teach in a middle school but they have extremely basic English skills.
Do you have access to computers? You could consider having your students starting a class blog. I am thinking of doing this with mine just for a lighter activity to motivate them to write during the Winter camp. We are going to publish a classroom blog. The best writing from each day will be published and we'll take pictures too: lots and lots of pictures. Since the writing will be so few.
I think the students would enjoy seeing their work on the internet. And, their parents and friends might see it, which would give them extra incentive.
Unread Feb 5th, 2008, 06:47 am
mind like a sieve

HUE is on a distinguished road

Welcome to ESLHQ, Hartini.