eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 24th, 2010, 12:33 am
eslHQ Zealot

chokosaki is on a distinguished road
Default Conversation Class lower level

Hello! My name is Richard and like most of you, I'm an English teacher! I live in China and have been teaching English for 6 months to children ranging from 3-12 years old. Previously, I have had no teaching experience. Luckily, my school is outfitted with some pretty nice stuff! The school has smart boards (interactive class room boards) and some great material for teaching english.
Well, I should say, the material was great until a bit recently. The school's material is mainly used for teaching vocabulary...but doesn't really get into using the vocabulary in sentences. It sounds weird I know, but the school acknowledged this once some parents started to complain. So, I have been given the task of beginning a conversation class for students.

I have 3 different groups of students. The first group of students range from about 3-6. The second group ranges from 6-10. The third group of students are in the 10-12 range. I have been given no material to create the classes for these students. I began my 3 classes in the same way: self introduction, how are you (happy, sad, cold, hot, etc), time based greetings (good morning, good afternoon, etc), food (i like/don't like to eat...), and daily meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner).