eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Jul 19th, 2010, 10:43 pm
eslHQ Zealot

chokosaki is on a distinguished road
Default ESL conversation upper intermediate-lower advanced conversation course

Hey there. I'm currently working on setting up a course outline for my future conversation lessons at a school I temp. This school calls me when they can get about 3-5 students for a conversation class. I'm about to finish my second group at the school. Things are going well but the school gives me no teaching material or suggestions. Being at the end of the second group, I'm a little burned out and my brain is a wreck. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I'm saving all my lessons I prepared (I saved the lessons the first time...but I was a new teacher then so I'm not too fond of the setup...some were good...some I scrapped.) Next time I'm going to set up the class in units and I was hoping some of you could check this basic outline and offer some suggestions. The class starts after the 42 hours and there is no continuation.

Unit 1: Introductions and life information (each class in this unit will begin with a fast, new icebreaker each day as the school usually lets new students 'demo' the class for the first month).
*Self introductions, icebreaker fun
*Biography and Autobiography
*Family
*Health
*Emotions

Unit 2: Around the World (Each class in this unit will offer various tips to improve/practice pronunciation)
*Transportation
*Traveling and Countries
*Weather
*Culture
*Animals
*Environment and Future of the Planet

Unit 3: At the Store (Each class will have a brief stint...ie...10 minutes or less...to practice sounds through tongue twisters and other various means...particularly sounds difficult for the students....such as the /th/ sound.).
*Buying and Selling
*Clothing
*Marketing/advertising
*Restaurants