eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Sep 11th, 2007, 09:35 am
eslHQ Member

renamian is on a distinguished road
Default Help with students who don't speak any English??

Hi there!

I am new to this forum. I have been teaching elementary school with ESOL students integrated in my classroom in Florida. I have just moved to VA and I am now an ESOL tutor for middle and high school. This is my first time in both schools. I will be tutoring some students are new to the country and only know a few words in English. In the past, I usually had a buddy with the ESOL student to help him/her out throughout the day. Now I am going to be one-on-one or with 2 students in a group. I am unsure how to start with these students.

Any activities on how to get things going. If you have had experiences like this in middle or high, can you please tell me your experiences and what you did. I'm not sure how to go about helping these students with their curriculum...do I start with letter sounds/phonics..elementary level curriculum? or just help them with their curriculum being taught in their classroom.

Also, are there any activities that I can do on my first day with all the students. They are all various levels, from beg. to advanced. I will be working with small groups throughout the day. I'm just nervous about the first meeting for some reason. lol. Thanks!!
Unread Sep 29th, 2007, 08:26 pm
Compelling Conversations

Eric18 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Help with students who don't speak any English??

Think Pictures!