eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Nov 21st, 2008, 09:48 am
Sukane

judayxlo is on a distinguished road
Default Teaching English in Taiwan

Teaching ESL in Taiwan is a lot different from teaching English in Korea. For one, in Taiwan, if the children get a bad grade or are not improving in their English skills, instead of blaming their own children, parents tend to blame the teacher. Teachers are also expected to teach through playing games, and apparently the children absolutely HAVE to like the teacher. Every single lesson has to be interesting, but also needs to cover the allotted materials. AND the language centers do not pay by the hour.
You cannot beat the children like in Korea, you cannot send the children outside the classroom for causing a disturbance, and you cannot tell the parents that their child is misbehaving.
Now..I'm pretty new at teaching in Taiwan, and am having a hard time with it.
I was wondering, under these circumstances, how would you get children ranging from ages 5-6, 6-7, 8-9, and 7-12 to behave? I'm pretty much at the end of my rope here. The language center director isn't giving me much to work with. She tells me that I need to be this superwoman.
Anyone out there have any advice? Would be much appreciated.
Unread Nov 22nd, 2008, 04:38 am
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Teaching English in Taiwan

well ... hmm

What are you doing? Can you give us an idea of how your typical lesson runs?
Unread Nov 22nd, 2008, 05:18 am
Sukane

judayxlo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Teaching English in Taiwan

I basically teach four classes: K1, C1, C2, and C3. K1 consists of children from the ages 5-6, C1 6-7, C2 6-9, and C3 6-12.
C1: [1 hour]