eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 22nd, 2012, 06:14 pm
eslHQ Member

EgyGirl is on a distinguished road
Default My 3 year old student had a nervous break down! :(

I'm new to teaching little toddlers English. I'm giving private lessons to two brothers. The youngest is 3 years old. The oldest is 5. Today, was a hard day for me in that the little 3 year old had a nervous break down. His mother had pushed him so hard by going to school from 9am - 3pm (no naps) and at 4 pm, he'd have to start private lessons with me.

At first it was fine. This was before she enrolled him into pre-school. So I guess at this point he is burnt out. I tried all that I could. At first he was fine with coloring and crafts. But then, he started doing the same at school. So then I decided to forget any kind of papers and do dancing and singing. His mother convinced him to go on with the lesson once he got a piece of candy. Wellll.....after that piece of candy dropped on the floor, he lost it! And ran back in the room with him Mommy. I felt bad. I don't have experience with little kids, and I felt like a bit of a failure. His older brother is completely comfortable, however. So the mother decided not to push her youngest son anymore.

I would like to know everyone's thoughts. Do you have stories similar to mine? What did you do? And what are your thoughts about pushing your child too hard at such a young age?
Unread Apr 21st, 2012, 04:43 am
eslHQ Member

sonia.ahd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My 3 year old student had a nervous break down! :(

Hi,