eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Feb 17th, 2008, 09:46 pm
eslHQ Member

terriebittner is on a distinguished road
Question past tense--absolute beginners

I'm a volunteer teaching an ESL class at church. I have no training, but neither does anyone else available, so I'm it! There is a serious need in our congregation, and long waiting lists for community classes.

I am teaching the absolute beginners--some have no more than five English words in their vocabularies. Most online lessons seem to presume you know the language (we have several languages represented, including Thai) or that the students know rather a lot of English.

How do you get past tense across to students? I am hoping to begin using pictures of scripture stories soon as a foundation for our lessons, since these students attend our church, but I'm finding I am lost as to how to make the stories past tense.

Terrie Bittner
Unread Feb 17th, 2008, 11:45 pm
eslHQ Addict

EngliPatrick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: past tense--absolute beginners

In my personal opinion, I think that real life examples would be better and easier to understand than scripture examples. Yeah, your audience might understand that Jesus multiplied fish and loaves of bread for a whole crowd to eat, BUT I think your students would relate more to using everyday life examples: Jimmy likes eating bread.

As far as how to go about teaching past tense, I would start off introducing simple past tense verbs. Meaning, verbs that only require verb+ed and slowly start introducing the irregular verb (speak --> spoke). You shouldn't totally ignore the irregular verbs because there are about 170ish of them and a lot of them are basic verbs the students will need to know: ride, drive, hear, etc.