eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Jan 27th, 2007, 08:41 pm
eslHQ Member

Mevans is on a distinguished road
Default Pay sites

Hi everyone,

I've been teaching at a hagwon in South Korea for 2 months, and we don't have any sort of curriculum or use text books, and I always find it difficult to decide what I'm going to teach next.

I've been looking at sites like onestopenglish and handoutsonline for ideas, I have used some of their free sheets and found them useful.

Are these sites worth joining? or can I find all I need for free, and do you have any recommendations around what I should be teaching.

I would like to try to add some structure to what I'm doing as at the moment its just random sheets or games or flashcards as I find them online.

I'm teaching a range of ages from 5 to 16 and class sizes range from 3 to 12.

thanks,

Marc.

Unread Jan 28th, 2007, 09:24 am
eslHQ Zealot

jenniferp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Pay sites

Hi Marc,

I would sit down and try to work out a basic course outline - month by month and then you can break it down into week by week - for the next 6 months or so for each of your class levels. If you don't have access to any text books at the school are there any esl book shops near you for you check out sample curriculum? Usually the books give a structured table in their content pages and with a bit of tweaking here and there you can adapt their ideas into your own plans.
It's an awful lot easier to decide what handouts/worksheets/flashcards you need when you have a structured plan.