eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Jan 19th, 2009, 07:06 am
eslHQ Member

kru_pasa_angrit is on a distinguished road
Default Teaching English to 1 and 2 year olds

Hi! I'm a recent college graduate who is in Thailand teaching English for 6 months. I've been here 4 months already, teaching in a secondary school. However, just recently I was asked to teach one morning a week at a local nursery school. My lessons with the kindergartners are going okay, but they also have me teaching the toddlers--1 and 2 year olds--for half an hour. They have specific topics they want me to teach each week, and I am absolutely at a loss of what to do with these tiny children who can't really even speak their own language yet! There are about 15 children in the class, not many resources or toys in the room, and there are 2-3 Thai teachers in the class when I'm teaching as well.

I would be incredibly grateful for any ideas anyone has for keeping these little ones entertained while at the same time exposing them to English! Thanks!
Unread Jan 19th, 2009, 12:17 pm
eslHQ Enthusiast

Tanialoves is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Teaching English to 1 and 2 year olds

Hi,

I've never taught either kindergartens or toddlers, so I do not have any experience of my own. But I've recently read an article that described a couple of activities you can use with small children.
The one I liked the most is connected with a picture dictionary (I would use flash cards instead). BTW, do you remember the tune to sing the notes (DO-RE-MI-FA-SOL-LA-SI)?
You will also need it.
So,
1. you choose a topic, e.g. animals;
2. then you choose 7 animals that the children are already familiar with (dog, cat, mouse, pig, bird, fly, bat)