eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Mar 8th, 2011, 10:01 am
eslHQ Member

KateHoca is on a distinguished road
Default Motivating Adults to Speak

I'm an ESL teacher in Turkey and I'm having a difficult time motivating the adult students in one of my classes to speak.

They are great at parroting or piecing together basic sentences, but when it comes to creating an all new sentences they stumble.

My students have fabulous grammar considering they are beginners; seeing as grammar is a big deal for Turkish people. However, they just aren't pulling their weight when comes to speaking.

They have the grammar, they know the vocabulary, and I've tried giving them an assortment of topics and I've played countless games with them to facilitate speech. But it just isn't happening!

I have three classes and this class is the only one that is having issues. I've begun to wonder if the class dynamics are messed up or if the students themselves are just not very chatty by nature.

What do you think?
Unread Mar 9th, 2011, 07:07 pm
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Motivating Adults to Speak

It could be their personalities or the class make up (men to women ratio, all men, all women.) it may be they just don't feel confident or they just have nothing to say on the subject.

You could try some speaking strategy tasks. Responding, asking follow up questions, summarizing and checking understanding, clarification questions, etc. That might get them to understand the dynamics of keeping a conversation alive.