eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Nov 17th, 2010, 03:41 pm
eslHQ Member

tigerfly is on a distinguished road
Default Any suggestions for "used to" activities, pls?

Please can anyone here help me.

I am currently a trainee, I was asked to plan a lesson on the past tenses to a Lower Intermediate group. I think I want to focus on saying "used to".

But I am not sure how to contextualise it, I was thinking about talking about childhood activities. What do you think? Also do you have any suggestions for activities, pls.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated,
tigerfly

Last edited by tigerfly : Nov 19th, 2010 at 04:43 pm. Reason: New issue!
Unread Nov 21st, 2010, 06:13 pm
eslHQ Zealot

bread_baker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trainee in need of help, I'm so confused!

What ages are your students?
I'd explain that "used to" can be used for a past habit or condition that is no longer true.
Examples: She used to eat desserts. (Implying that she doesn't do that anymore)
There used to be a Chinese restaurant on this street.
Amy used to date my brother.
Peter used to live in New York.

I'd write a lot of examples on the board and carefully explain the grammar. In my class, I like to have students write with the new grammar before they speak with it. You may find exercises for this grammar in a good grammar text.
I'd definitely try one or more speaking activities with this grammar. Choice of activities will depend on the ages of the students.
Unread Nov 22nd, 2010, 01:30 pm
eslHQ Member

Quote:
Quote bread_baker View Post
What ages are your students?
I'd explain that "used to" can be used for a past habit or condition that is no longer true.
Examples: She used to eat desserts. (Implying that she doesn't do that anymore)
There used to be a Chinese restaurant on this street.
Amy used to date my brother.
Peter used to live in New York.