eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Apr 23rd, 2006, 06:23 am
ESL Teacher

Frauke is on a distinguished road
Default Students don't remember correct pronunciation

Hi,

I teach in Spain, adults in companies. One of my classes is a total beginners class aging from 30 to 55 years, 5 students in total. I teach them once a week for 2 hours. They are motivated and we have a lot of fun together, but my big problem is that they don't seem to be able to remember the correct pronunciation of new words.

E.G. I did description of people (beautiful, tall, long hair, blue eyes etc) last year and this year - I started 1.5 months ago again with them - I 've been teaching body parts.

We have been pronouncing body parts ever since then. I feel I have repeated the words about a thousand times and more and they still don't get it right. I am glad that they actually finally remember what e.g. leg, etc means as that was a problem, too, that they did not learn their vocabulary.

I am so frustrated about that. Can somebody please give me some advice what to do. I feel I cannot do more than just repeating it over and over again.

I would like to start something else as I don't want them to get bored, but if I start with new words, I will have the same problem....

Any ideas? Thanks!!
Unread Apr 24th, 2006, 10:50 pm
eslHQ superstar!

mesmark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Students don't remember correct pronunciation

Sometimes getting the words into sentences helps. It's often difficult to pronounce the one word but students get better when using the word in combination with other words.

Another option is to record them and let them listen to themselves to draw attention to the vast difference.