eslHQ Home
User Name Password
Lost Password? | Join eslHQ.com, it's FREE!
View today's posts
Search Extras Help   

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread May 15th, 2008, 05:22 am
eslHQ Member

Rouvrou is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Teaching English in French primary schools

I am also finding using the children's mini-whiteboards (ardoises) very useful. We put Yes on one side and No on the other in answer to questions like "is it a chair?", or I ask them to draw an item of vocabulary, or to self-assess their understanding at the end of the lesson with a smiley or sad face. You get a very quick visual check of who understands and who doesn't. I have found, for example, that one boy who really struggles with speaking English is 100% accurate when asked to draw something, so he is clearly a visual learner and I can now build on that for future lessons.
regards
Rouvrou
Unread Jun 24th, 2008, 05:18 am
eslHQ Member

NZteacher is on a distinguished road

Hi there. I am new to this forum. I'm going to be moving to Normandy next year and I was wondering what the job prospects are like for primary school teachers. I am a fully trained primary school teacher in New Zealand and I am a confident French speaker. I'm wanting to get some idea of how I might go about finding work in a French school. So if anyone has any information or advice they would like to post for me, I would be very grateful.
Thanks.
Jimmy.
Unread Jun 24th, 2008, 08:01 am
eslHQ Member

cjj is on a distinguished road

Do you want to teach just English or become a primary school teacher here in France?
For financial reasons English in primary schools is now taught by the students’ regular teacher. To teach in primary schools you have to pass the CRPE (concours de recrutement de professeur des écoles). The following sites should be helpful.
Concours de recrutement de professeur des écoles - Wikipédia

Professeur des écoles - Wikipédia